Sunday, April 11, 2010

Liberal Condescension, or "Sorry GOP, I'll Use Smaller Words In My Rebuttal"

by D. Ray Morton

A whole ago Dennis Miller interviewed a guy who wrote a conservative article, and possibly a book if I’m not mistaken, about growing condescension from liberals toward the GOP. Basically he was making the argument that over the last 20 years, the “intellectual” institutions of the country have become more and more liberal, and combined with the left leaning bias of the media and the entertainment industry, the conservatives are left with an arrogant monster of an opposition party in the democrats. This guy contends that liberals are quicker to place conservatives into a stereotype and present them as either one tooth, “sister kissing” rednecks, or they are corporate money barons who fuck over the rest of the country with dishonest fiscal practices, with nothing in the middle.

I was listening to this interview with mild interest and even milder disagreement, until the guy used an example of how we liberals “paint conservatives with one broad brush”. He made the point that liberals listen to Sarah Palin make a ridiculous comment and then assume that’s the conservative agenda. Then he referenced Glen Beck. At that point I kinda wanted to reach in through my radio and throttle the guy. It’s one thing to say liberals are guilty of stereotypes. Personally I happen to see conservatives do the same thing just as much, as this guy did many times in the interview. (I’m pretty sure the word “elitist” came up a couple times) Is it a problem? Sure. Is it a big problem? No. Is only one side guilty of it? Sure as shit no. But when you suddenly talk about there being fault in liberals judging conservative ideals based on the bullshit that comes from Sara Palin and Glen Beck, I have to scream foul. If either of them represented some isolated extreme of conservative followers, then yeah, of course I’d take issue if liberals picked apart everything they said and held it up as evidence the republicans are retarded. But Sara Palin and Glen Beck are the BIGGEST NAMES IN POPULAR CONSERVATISM. Toss in Rush Limbaugh and you’ve got the unholy trinity. Since she burst onto the scene, Sarah Palin has been IMMENSELY popular with the conservative population in this country... maybe not the conservative media, who either try to either coddle her or not mention her at all, but the PEOPLE, the conservative PEOPLE? They love her. Glen Beck has the biggest audience for political commentary out there. Same with Rush.... so... Given their popularity, when liberals scrutinize their words and find a good argument that Sarah Palin is fucking stupid, then Glen Beck is fucking insane, and Rush Limbaugh is riding high on a long career of being both, it isn’t a stretch to assume some of what they say is more than just one facet of the conservative movement, but is the BULK of the conservative movement. This isn’t to say I think that every senator and representative with an “R” next to his name is a dipshit. My only point is that if a certain person is IMMENSELY popular with the people, and that person says something stupid with every breath, then you cant blame me for judging those people that like her. Smarter conservatives can roll their eyes at Sarah Palin all they want, but until they have her poll numbers and Glen Beck’s audience, I’m not going to trust they know which way the wind is blowing.

And here’s the other thing... Glen Beck, a political commentator, commenting that he thinks Obama is a racist... where are the conservatives coming out of the woodwork to say that’s bullshit? Where are the conservatives who hear Rush Limbaugh spout his hate speech and say it’s bullshit? Where are the conservatives coming out of the woodwork to say, on camera, that Obama WAS born in the United States, he IS the President, he isn't a muslim, he isn’t a socialist, and there is no such thing as death panels? I never see REAL conservatives who want to have honest debate come out and denounce the bullshit. When Rush, Sarah, and Glen all go on their tirades, and then real conservatives just don't talk about it, then what the fuck am I supposed to think? Logic would dictate that I’d have to think one of two things.... Either most conservatives really believe what the three stooges propagate but know they can’t say it themselves because of political retribution, or they DON’T believe them and think it’s not even worth mentioning, which would be sound reasoning if the bullshit weren't coming from names that big.

Obviously, if a HUGE name in liberalism said something stupid, I’d call him on it. The fact is, liberals don’t really have ONE or TWO or THREE demagogues like the conservatives, because I think they are a little more practical with their beliefs. It’s hardly a comparison, but sometimes I completely agree with Keith Olbermann, and sometimes I disagree with him, and if someone asked, I’d tell them so. If Keith Olbermann goes on TV tomorrow and says George Bush is a racist, I’d disagree with that, and I think alot of people would and alot of people would say so.

Look at this this way, the conspiracy theorists are out there on both sides, but the liberal conspiracy theories are much easier to believe, because they are based on motives, money, and actions, while conservatives think Barack Obama wasn’t born in America even after seeing his birth certificate. If a liberal president and his vice president worked for oil companies, made absurd profits, and then started a war under false pretenses in a country where there was oil money to be made... I’d... say... something... about it... and even if I didn’t think it was shady, I certainly wouldn’t think it was ridiculous to have a discussion about it.

It’s just nuts.

No comments:

Post a Comment